Wk2 – Classmate Interview – Quynh Ong

Today in class I had the pleasure of meeting Quynh Ong. She is a freshman and is currently pursuing a major in Film. When it comes to her career she hopes to be involved with filming in movies. One interesting fact I learned about Quynh is that her last name Ong means,”Old man”.  Her reaction was humorous to me because I could tell she was embarrassed when she told me the meaning of her name.  Although we spent only a little less than a class period together, I can honestly say I enjoyed our time together and look forward to our next meeting.

Quynh!!

Quynh!!

 

One interesting thing about her love for film is that the movies she is interested in are indies movies. One of her favorite indie movies is “Little Miss Sunshine”. This is also one of my favorite movies and we were able to discuss our favorite scenes and quotes. She told me about many other indie movies that she loved, but I did not recognize any of the titles or directors.  A surprising fact I learned about Quynh is that she has not scene many of the blockbuster films that most people have scene. My favorite movie, “The Lord of the Rings” is just one of the many amazing movies in the world that Quynh has not scene. This information suprised me because I thought that film majors would have scene all the major blockbusters. 

When we went into the exhibit we stopped at Ava Porter’s slaughter. This video captured Me and Quynh’s attention. We stared at the clip watching the women cut the animal up into smaller and smaller pieces. For the longest time we were thinking about what type of animal the women was cutting up. We came to the conclusion that it was a lamb or goat, but joked that it looked like a dog. We both agreed that after watching this video we could definitely become vegans. 

Overall, hanging out with Quynh was awesome. She was a joy to be around and I know I will be seeing more of her because she signed up for the same club I am in. Looking forward to seeing you at ESP club!

If you want to see more of Quynh go to http://qquynhh.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

